I Am Actually Impressed….

Who would have thunk it?

Lots of businesses were closed this past Easter Sunday.  I found out the hard way.  After a great worship service at our place of worship on Sunday, my wife and I decided to go to Sam’s Club in Trussville, AL to take advantage of our new membership privileges.  We were off to purchase large quantities of Gatorade, paper towels, soap, water and toilet paper. (all for our secret war-time bunker) But much to our amazement, Sam’s was closed.  I was shocked and appalled.  The Pinnacle shopping center…closed.  Super Target…closed.  Buckle…closed.  Almost everything else…CLOSED.  We drove almost an hour and a half just to turn around and go back home.

But no…I refuse to return without getting out of my truck.

There were a few heathen, capitalistic sales venues actually open for business.

We visited Home Depot, Lowe’s….and of course the two entities set on world domination…Wal-Mart and Starbucks!  (We didn’t actually go to Starbucks.  My wife and I both hate coffee.  I just had to include them.  They’re everywhere.)

I wonder what kind of “hit” the other stores took for not being open.  You know it wasn’t long ago that no business were open on Sunday.  It wasn’t in my lifetime, but all humanity was not lost when the “Blue Law” was still in effect.  I have said many times I wish we still had that law.  It would be a bit of challenge to get used to that way of life again.  But I believe we could manage.  Chik-Fil-A seems to do OK.  They have a College Football Bowl Game for crying out loud.

I know, I know.  “Why did you go out looking to spend money?  Why weren’t you home with family?”  Well, I was with family and we were bored.  But, I think I am going to actually try not to go anywhere on Sunday anymore, except to church or to visit friends and family.  It may be a stretch, but I think it can be done.

To all merchandisers of the world….”You No Open On Sunday!”

~ by gack24 on March 24, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
